Thoughts on assets

I’m increasingly using low poly assets from Luma Genie to populate my builds. They’re not a patch on custom-made mesh (as per Encantada plants, for example) but they’re available quickly unless you want a hi-res version and generally you can get something that approximates your need. The downside is that objects created separately like tables and chairs are unlikely to match.

I did try looking for freebies on Wolf Territories Grid but the link that automatically appears in Firestorm takes you to a spot that doesn’t have much (if anything) of that ilk. Likely it’s gone elsewhere and I should check the Welcome area for links (see below for update). I’m fairly sure there’s commercial mesh available inworld but it means yet another digital currency which I’d rather avoid. So Genie it (mostly) is.

The grid owner appears to endorse such methods as they have made a video demonstrating an alternative source, Meshly. This appears to have a more conventional experience compared to the minimalistic but highly effective Genie, somewhat akin to NightCafe which I have used for images.

As far as textures are concerned, I’m currently mostly using the OpenSim Library although there are plenty of websites I could use, plus textures licensed for export from Kitely. Leonardo.ai is another possibility as is the forthcoming withpoly.com.

Of course, I’m operating at the freebie tier where possible and may have to think again when monetisation inevitably intrudes.

Update: Inworld assets, including freebies, via the website

Ball of Confusion @vrsimility